Reflections of a new Missionary

So, This is my first time posting any kind of blog, but i felt like it would be a good idea. This past week we actually didn’t do much, but I was given a lot to think about by talking with Elder Laws; the Elder that will be finishing my training as a missionary.

Due to the fact that Elder Laws was still recovering from surgery this past week, we ended up staying home instead of going out and doing what a missionary usually does: Contacting people, helping the members of the church, and teaching people about The restoration fo the gospel of Jesus Christ. For those of you who are reading this and don’t know, I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints; more commonly known in the states as “Mormons”. Currently, i am not jsut a normal member though; i am a Missionary. I have been given the authority of the Melchizedek Priesthood and have been set apart to serve the Lord for two years of my life.

During these two years I will leave all of my work, schooling, family, and friends behind and dedicate all of my time ot preaching the gospel of Jesus Christ and helping others to come unto and follow him by receiving the restored gospel. Many of my friends who weren’t members often told me that i was crazy for wanting to give up two years of my life just ot preach what i believe in; but i feel that it is my duty to my best to attempt to help others be saved by accepting the Gospel of Jesus Christ and being baptized by someone with the proper priesthood authority.

However, i am a person of few words usually, and i don’t know much portuguese either, so how am i to do this? Simple. Through a lot of study, prayer, relying on the Lord, and listening to and following the promptings of the Holy Spirit. As of right now i don’t know the exact purpose of this blog, but i felt as if it was important for me to make one to attempt to share the gospel with as many people as i could. As the weeks and months go by maybe the purpose of this blog will become clearer, maybe not. Either way, i will do my best to keep this blog up to date with weekly posts and updates of the missionary work in the Brazil Cuiabá Mission; which is in the states of Mato Grosso and Mato Grosso do Sul.

Before my mission i was an avid player of DDO- Dungeons and Dragons Online, and i followed a blog by someone called “TeacherSyn”. I still try to follow that same blog, adn might make references to it every now adn then in relation to things that i think can be related to gospel principles and/or missionary work. However, I will refrain from doing so until i have obtained the permission of TeacherSyn first.

Leave a Reply

